Bali - Reisverslag uit Khett Siem Reab, Cambodja van Marilein Weerd - WaarBenJij.nu Bali - Reisverslag uit Khett Siem Reab, Cambodja van Marilein Weerd - WaarBenJij.nu

Bali

Door: Marilein

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marilein

24 November 2014 | Cambodja, Khett Siem Reab

So we arrived in Bali! It’s very early in the morning and I’m still feeling very sick. A good start to our journey… Ubud would be our first city to stay in. So we got our things and headed to the taxi area… well, we got ripped off! And not a little bit… (I think we paid twice as much as what we should have paid). I didn’t read anything about Bali so I didn’t knew that you could bargain… I was just happy that we found our guest house ;)

In the taxi we saw a beautiful sunrise and it wasn’t a culture shock for me. It’s just a lot of scooters… Like a lot… It’s like riding a bike in the Netherlands, everybody has one.
Eventually we came into Ubud, a lot of art and restaurants. And of course the Monkey forest! There were only two things in Bali that I wanted to see (that I already knew): The Monkey Forest and the Rice Paddies. So I was really happy that we only stayed 10min walk away from the forest.
Our guest house was owned by a family who made us breakfast every morning. But I really have to say that I don’t like the coffee… I was used to the coffee from Melbourne or French press coffee, and suddenly you get coffee with the grinds still in it (like a Turkish coffee). No thanks…
After we checked in, I had to lie in bed the rest of the day. Eventually I had to eat, so we went to the most awesome restaurant in Ubud (in my opinion); the dirty duck diner. Although, we didn’t eat duck and the restaurant wasn’t dirty ;)

The second day I was feeling a bit better, so we went to the monkey forest. And they are so cute! But naughty... we saw one playing with himself (masturbating), a few had sex right next to us… it was a lot of fun! After that adventure I wasn’t feeling well again, so back to bed.
The third day was the worst… so only stayed in bed. But we went out of dinner with two friends who we met on our Whitsunday tour, two Canadian girls. I basically drugged myself so I felt reasonably well enough to go out in the heat. Too bad my appetite wasn’t going very well… Still was fun to see some familiar faces.

The next day we went on a shuttle bus to Sanur, where we stayed for the second half of our stay. We walked around in Sanur; it wasn’t very touristy which we liked. But the beach wasn’t very nice if you weren’t staying at a resort with a private beach and pool. So we skipped hanging out on the beach, it was also way too hot for that (if you didn’t want to go into the water). I didn’t know I could sweat all day long. While Stephen booked us a tour to Tanah Lot Temple at sunset, I took a nap. Every time you want to go somewhere, you can book a taxi or hire a scooter. If I was feeling better, we could have taken the scooter but we chose to book a taxi… there were so many scooters and traffic jams, I was almost scared that we couldn’t make it on time. But the driver knew what he was doing so thanks to him we were on time! And it’s a big attraction for everyone (aka very busy). But it was worth seeing a beautiful sunset with a temple in the middle of the ocean when the tide is high.

And then there was one of those days that I finally felt good!! It took a while, it isn’t easy to get better when it’s so hot and you really want to do still things because you are on holiday. We booked a taxi for the whole day (that’s about 50dollars) and she took us to the rice paddies, a volcano, the biggest temple and free coffee tasting. So the rice paddies were awesome! Very cool to see! We saw the volcano from the restaurant, pretty awesome. And where we got the most ripped off from all over the island was the biggest temple. Very ironic… We also did an offering, so hopefully the Gods will listen to me… And the free coffee tasting was great! Finally something for free ;) you could buy the coffee but we didn’t have any money left because we almost had to give everything as a “donation” to the temple. The coffee was very special because a Luwak (no idea what that is in Dutch) eats the beans and poo the beans out and that results in a fine coffee.

So that is pretty much my Bali adventure… we could have done a lot more if I wasn’t sick. I even said to Stephen: “Live for the both of us and do things”. But he wanted to take care of me (aaahhhh). Next blog: Vietnam!

Big fat hug,
Marilein

P.s. I'm already in Cambodia... I'm just very lazy to write it all down ;)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Cambodja, Khett Siem Reab

Southeast Asia

Travel trough Southeast Asia with Stephen!

Recente Reisverslagen:

01 December 2014

Vietnam

24 November 2014

Bali
Marilein

Actief sinds 09 Nov. 2012
Verslag gelezen: 216
Totaal aantal bezoekers 13829

Voorgaande reizen:

23 Juli 2016 - 18 Augustus 2016

Peru en Bolivia

31 Oktober 2014 - 18 December 2014

Southeast Asia

24 November 2013 - 01 November 2014

Work and live in Australia

12 November 2012 - 11 November 2013

Nieuw Zeeland

Landen bezocht: